What I’m doing with my life.

I am currently studying Early Childhood Education (ECE.) This choice came after lots of deliberation. I remember when I was still a kid maybe 8 or 9, and I had gone to an Aunt’s house for a haircut (she is a professional hair dresser) and I said, “When I grow up, I want to be a hairdryer.” LOL!  Makes me laugh! Anyway, in high school, I so desperately wanted to be a gynaecologist or a paediatrician!!! Oh my! Two very different ends of the spectrum! Needless to say that didn’t quite work out – clearly I didn’t know what I was talking about!

Along the time of finally having to make a decision about what I would like to do with my life, I was constantly being pulled into the world of children. My eldest sister visited in 2008 with her first child – a bubbly little girl! I felt that I quite enjoyed being with the little one. Also I had been told by a few that I’m really good with kids. That really got me thinking that my purpose on this Earth has something to do with the little beings. I looked into careers involving children, online, and came across ECE. I loved the idea of being a teacher and carer for little tots.

I began my journey of looking into how and where I could study. I was not able to attend university, and could not find a college or institution locally that offered such services. I was disheartened. However, one of my Aunt’s had come to visit us from Botswana and she told me that she was currently studying ECE via correspondence with a college in South Africa. So my spirits lifted and I immediately got on to researching the college and the degree. The college is called Intec and they offered exactly what I was looking for.

I signed up with them, got my books and began my course in September 2010. I am finishing this September as it a 2 year course. I am looking forward to putting all that I have learnt to practice. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

