The sweetest things

*This is a scheduled post as I am away on vacation in India! 🙂

I came across these words somewhere and they immediately prompted me to write a post on my two adorable little nieces! Their names are Melia and Pria and they are 5 and 3 respectively. When my eldest sister told us she was expecting the first time, our family was positively thrilled! The first thing I thought of was, “I’m going to be an Aunty!” There is just something about being an aunt that gets me excited. The second time around that she was expecting we were equally as over joyed and couldn’t wait for the new addition.

When your sister has children, it’s like life is coming around full circle. We were all young and playing together, and squabbling, and then she left and got married and is now having children, it’s a real joy to see our family growing. Last year I got the opportunity to go to Canada and meet my two sisters who live there and their families. When I saw my nieces I couldn’t help but see bits and pieces of our parents and of us sisters embedded in them.

Back to the little girls, they are the best nieces anyone could ask for! They are SO cute! They are very happy children, always laughing, and they are so smart, always ready to gobsmack you with a thought of theirs! I had a wonderful time with them last year, where they very happily invited me into their sacred play room, and got me to join in their games and read them stories. Leaving them to come home was one of the hardest things that I had ever done. They had taken over my heart completely and to say goodbye broke me. However, I had to come home, and so it had to be done. All I can say is thank goodness there is Skype!

On another note I am going to have an opportunity to be an Aunty again as my second eldest sister is expecting and is due in December. I am very, very excited! Can’t wait for another bundle of joy to join our family!

Also, I am scheduling this post for the 30th of November as it is Melia’s birthday. Happy 5th Birthday M! I hope your day is filled with gifts! Love you lots! From Padi Masi…x (Everyone calls me ‘Pari’ but with Melia ‘Padi’ just stuck! I don’t mind it though, when she says it it sounds so cute!)

One thought on “The sweetest things

Leave a Reply

