Blog Etiquette: Is it Necessary to Follow a Person’s Blog because they Followed yours?

*This is a scheduled post as I am away on vacation in India! 🙂

As per the title is it really necessary to follow someone’s blog just because they followed yours?

I say no it is not. I am extremely grateful for all the people who take the time out of their busy day to read my ramblings, BUT, that does not mean that I have to read theirs. I don’t mean to be nasty. What I do is, when I get a new follower I go ahead and take a look a their blog and read up about them and a few of their posts and see if I can relate to them and whether or not I want to continue reading their posts. If the answer to that question is yes then I subscribe to them, if not then I don’t. I think it should be a no-hard-feelings-situation to be honest.

Some people think it is only right that you follow a blog because that person followed yours, but why?! It’s just wasting time, and you are not getting anything out of it. In fact I think you following a person that you don’t even relate to is misleading the person in question and making them think that you are actually interested in their posts.

But at the end of the day each to their own I guess. I stand by my thoughts and if any of you out there are following my blog and are offended that I didn’t follow yours, well now you know why and if you wish to unfollow me then please go ahead! 😉

Leave a Reply

